loridaily

notes from the heart

How Long Do I Want to Live?

…Long enough to hold your warm hand in mine

caressing each finger

as you share your confidences

in the witness of only the incoming tide

…Long enough to return your embrace

ecstasy held tightly

in wordless quietude

while nature provides its heady music

…Long enough to hold my breath

awaiting the softness

of your lips on mine

while the ocher of sunset’s glory fades to amythest

Nothing but the fizz of the waves evaporating

as water turns into sky

Nothing but the echoing cries

of distant birds in their ballet

Nothing but your smiling eyes looking into my soul

as we breathe as one

How long do I want to live?

Long enough to fall in love again

and maybe

if I am very lucky

a little longer…

No comments yet»

Leave a comment